Soil & Water Conservation

Soil and Water Conservation District

The Caldwell Soil and Water Conservation District is a subdivision of state government that promotes the wise use and management of our natural resources: soil, water, air, plants, and animals. The Caldwell Soil and Water Conservation District's objectives are secured largely through the voluntary cooperation of landowners.

The District administers the North Carolina Agriculture Cost Share Program, the Community Conservation Assistance Program, and the AgWRAP Program to improve water quality and reduce non-point source pollution on agricultural lands as well as homeowners. The Natural Resources Conservation Service and other agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, as well as some state and local agencies, provide technical assistance.

The five-member board consists of three members elected to four-year staggered terms and two members appointed by the State Soil and Water Conservation Commission.

The Current District Board of Supervisors (L-R): Mike Willis, Russell Dellinger (Chair), Jack Adams (Treasurer), Allen Tolbert, and Ed Spivey (Vice Chair)

Soil and Water Board Photo