Our Story: The Early Years

Twin Poplars

Before European settlement, the Catawba and Cherokee peoples inhabited the region. According to legend, when settlers arrived in the 1760s, the Catawba were friendly to the newcomers, teaching them to hunt and farm, while the Cherokee resisted encroachment. Still settlers constructed homesteads along the Catawba and Yadkin Rivers as well as Lower Creek. Forts Defiance and Grider protected settlers during periods of conflict.

The Legend of the Twin Poplars tells of the Cherokee and Catawba tribes making peace after a bloody war around 1737 in Warrior Gap; the tribes symbolically tied two young poplar trees together as a promise of eternal friendship. Today, two joined trees stand as a testament to that harmony, surviving natural disasters, like Hurricane Hugo, proving the legend's enduring spirit, whether factual or folkloric.

The Twin Poplars
Source: Caldwell County Archives
Photographer Dave Rufty; Restored by Bill Tate

By the 1770s and 1780s, communities began to take shape. Public roads were mapped out, and churches, such as the Littlejohn Meeting House and Yadkin Baptist Church, were established.

General William Lenoir emerged as a civic and military leader, participating in the Battle of Kings Mountain and building the historic Fort Defiance home. Industrial leaders also emerged. In the 1790s, Andrew Baird built an iron works on the Catawba River. Civic life expanded with libraries, post offices, and new towns such as Summerville (now Granite Falls) and Collettsville

Littlejohn Meeting House

Littlejohn Meeting House 
Source: Caldwell Heritage Book

Baird Forge on map

By the 1830s and early 1840s, the area was prepared for formal governance. Legislative efforts led to the creation of Caldwell County, named for Joseph Caldwell, in 1841. The county seat was established at Tucker’s Muster Ground, which would become Lenoir. These decades laid the foundation for Caldwell County’s civic, economic, and cultural identity.

Baird’s Forge established on Gunpowder Creek, 1791
Source: Caldwell County Archives
Pam Smith Cooke

Our Story: The Early Years in Photos

Palmyra Estate, now Patterson School
Early Paiting of Fort Defiance
Deal Mill Plantation Grist Mill Oak Hill

Sources: Nancy Alexander’s “A History of Caldwell County” and “Here Will I Dwell;” John O. Hawkins’ “History of Caldwell County” and “History of Buffalo Cove;” the Granite Falls History and Transportation Museum; Gamewell History Museum; Caldwell County Archives; and records of early churches, post offices, and industrial sites documenting settlement, community development, and early industry.